Monday, October 2, 2023
14.5 C
HomeDairyPics: Winners of Kerry Holstein Friesian Breeders’ Club herds competition
Reading Time: 3 minutes

Pics: Winners of Kerry Holstein Friesian Breeders’ Club herds competition

John Reidy reports from the Kerry Holstein Friesian Breeders’ Club annual herds competition award ceremony.

The Kerry Holstein Friesian Breeders’ Club members wrapped up their awards ceremonies for 2023 at Hughes Bar in Cordal recently.

The annual herds competition, kindly sponsored again this year by Dairymaster, took place in mid-June and between July 3rd and 6th with the results being announced at the venue on Thursday night, July 6th.

The event saw prize winners travel from many quarters of the county despite inclement weather conditions prevailing on the occasion.

Special guests included Noel Scanlon representing Dairymaster and a healthy number of young owners and breeders came in the hope of collecting awards on the night.

The joint aim of the club and the competition is to promote good production and conformation in Holstein Friesian herds.

Dairymaster and its company representative, Noel Scanlon were thanked for their ongoing and constant support for the club by its outgoing chairman, Leo O’Connor.


There was a cross-channel element to the competition and the presentation ceremony with UK judge Mick Gould of the Shropshire-based Woodmarsh Herd who judged the senior, intermediate, and junior sections.

- Advertisement -

Sylvia Helen of the Clonakilty-based Eedy Herd judged the novice, new entrants and Friesian section and she was also present at the awards ceremony in Cordal.

Judging of stock commenced in June for Ms. Helen’s categories and in the first week of July for those under Mr. Gould’s experienced gaze.

This year there were 54 herds in the competition and spanned north, south, east, and west Kerry.

The competition is split between spring and autumn calving herds and further broken down again to senior, intermediate, junior, novice, non-recorded, Friesian, and new entrants.

There are also other individual awards for production, EBI, SCC and much more. It is a great way to gain knowledge from an expert in their field.


Prizes included best overall cow based on kgs of protein production; highest herd percentage protein; lifetime production cow; highest conformation herd and production herd; lowest somatic cell count; best overall heifer, junior cow, and senior cow; highest overall EBI herd; cow families and pure Friesian class.

The perpetual overall champion cow trophy, sponsored by Dairymaster, and decided by Mick Gould Judge, was chosen from the herds in the senior and intermediate sections of the competition and was awarded to John and Ann O’Hanlon, Goldenhill Farm, Ballyduff by Mick Gould Judge for their cow Peak Linkup Lustre.

The perpetual overall junior champion cow trophy, sponsored by Dairymaster, and decided by Mick Gould Judge, was chosen from all the herds in the junior section of the competition and was awarded to Patrick and Eileen  Buckley, Meenenare, Duagh, for his cow, Meenanare Dancer.


See more farming news on

- Advertisment -

Most Popular