Thursday, December 7, 2023
9.4 C
HomeFarming NewsSmoky coal ban extended
Reading Time: < 1 minute

Smoky coal ban extended

The Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Eamon Ryan T.D. has signed regulations to give legal effect to the extension of the smoky coal ban to all towns with populations over 10,000 people. 

From September 1st, 2020, the burning, sale, and marketing of smoky coal will be prohibited in thirteen additional areas across the country. 

Minister Ryan said, “I am very pleased to extend this ban to a further 13 urban areas and I would like to I thank the local authorities for their cooperation.”

“This measure will reduce air pollution and promote public health. The main health effects of air pollution include stroke, heart disease, lung cancer, and both chronic and acute respiratory diseases, including asthma.”

“Fine particulate matter, the pollutant of most concern from domestic solid fuel burning is linked to a range of diseases. Banning smoky coal saves lives and improves health outcomes”.

Additional towns:

  • Cavan – Cavan Town;
  • Cork – Carrigtwohill, Cobh, Midleton and Mallow;
  • Kerry – Killarney;
  • Longford – Longford Town;
  • Mayo – Castlebar and Ballina;
  • Meath – Ashbourne;
  • Offaly – Tullamore;
  • Waterford – Tramore;
  • Wexford – Enniscorthy.
- Advertisment -

Most Popular